Dragonslay3r94 Reviews – Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Now I stumbled across this anime while browsing out of sheer boredom so there isn’t much of a long and detailed story of how I found this show but I guess that doesn’t really matter much in the grand scheme of things so with that out the way I guess I should get on with the review and tell you good people my honest thoughts about the show.

So Kaichou wa Maid-sama! or “The president is a maid!” is a romantic comedy anime that is adapted from the 18 volume shojo manga of the same name which ran from December 2005 to September 2013 and it focuses on the story of a girl named Misaki Ayuzawa, a young girl who is the school president of Seika High, an all boys school turned co ed that also works part time secretly at a maid cafe and just so you know, maid cafes are a proper thing.

I like alot of different things about this show, it has a unique setting, great characters and it is really funny but first I shall cover the characters like I always do starting with Misaki herself since the whole show revolves around her and a somewhat unusual guy named Usui Takumi who is the love interest.

Despite her adorable appearance, Mizaki is 110% tsundere and she has a deep resentment of men but she has her reasons for being like that, she runs Seika High with a iron fist causing most of the male students to give her the nickname of

Despite her adorable appearance, Mizaki is 110% tsundere and she has a deep resentment of men but she has her reasons for being like that, she runs Seika High with a iron fist causing most of the male students to give her the nickname of “Demon Prez”

I absolutely adore Mizaki because she has a tonne of depth as a character and that is one thing I love more than anything about this show, she is a incredibly hard working and smart individual and while most of the student’s see her as nothing more than an uptight boy-hating demon dictator she is actually quite kind to those who are close to her.

She isn’t a push over by any means and if she has set out to do something then it’s wise to move out the way because she doesn’t stop until she achieves her desired goal and another thing I like about her is that unlike every other woman in the series….she cannot stand Usui at all and she finds him annoying but grows to tolerate him over the course of the show.

Usui however is by far the most random character I have ever seen in an anime, he is a teen heart throb, troll, pervert, emoji, badass hybrid, he is also one of the very few people that knows about Mizaki and the maid cafe so he goes there to troll and annoy her in good fun even though she calls him a “perverted outer-space alien” and is often volatile towards him but he is alot more complex than people tend to realize.

Mazaki often refers to Usui as a

Mazaki often refers to Usui as a “mystery wrapped in an enigma” considering she knows almost nothing about him and is often surprised when he does something really cool and unexpected

if you need an example there is a clip coming up soon but anyway what I love about this show is the fact that even though all the girls in Seika High pretty much throw themselves at Usui, he isn’t interested in any of them and states that Mizaki is “the only one for him” even though she hates him with a passion and it is actually pretty nice to see.

‘‘I’m actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals a day. And I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafés. Of course, I also collect maid figurines. I play games which feature female maids and it turns me on so much. Then I’ll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy. I’ll take my leave now.’’ – Usui Takumi

Another thing I like about this series is that it is ridiculously funny, it will have you smiling and laughing because Usui is an absolute trolling master, he can sometimes be quite a pervert at times too but it’s just mild teasing here and there and it is beyond funny when Mizaki flips out.

There are so many funny moments in this show and it’s really hard to pick my favorite but I gave it a shot and picked one scene that is both funny and it shows off one of Usui’s many talents throughout the show and that talent is cooking and believe me, Gordon Ramsay himself would be jealous of Usui’s mad cooking skills.

Comedy aside Kaichou wa Maid-sama! has a great art style that really pushes it self with the facial expressions of Usui and the other characters and the voice work is good but I would advise watching this show subbed because the English dub is not exactly great but that is about it for voice acting and art quality.

Kaichou wa Maid-sama! is also a decent length with 28 episodes that you could easily binge watch over a weekend like I did when I had a cold but this show has one huge flaw and that is Kaichou wa Maid-sama! ends on a cliffhanger with absolutely no word of a second season but the manga is very easy to find and I might link the manga here so you guys can read up after watching the show.

Kaicho wa Maid Sama is a anime that is one anime that I really enjoyed, it's incredibly funny and it is the perfect anime to watch with your other half if you have one and into anime

Kaicho wa Maid Sama is a anime that is one anime that I really enjoyed, it’s incredibly funny, lighthearted and a great romantic anime and it is the perfect to watch with your other half if you have one that is into anime

Kaicho wa Maid Sama is well worth a watch and the manga is well worth reading, I really enjoyed this show and I am considering giving it another watch after I finish watching Triage X which is another anime I plan on reviewing for you guys so keep a look out for that one alright people.

I promise you won’t be disappointed with Kaicho wa Maid Sama if you like romantic animes that have bucket loads of comedy thrown in, great characters and a genuinely adorable romance, I wish there was more I could tell you but I would be giving the entire show away and I really don’t wanna do that so I guess this is it from me and this review so if you liked this post then like, comment down below and share and I will see you soon with yet another anime review.

2 responses to “Dragonslay3r94 Reviews – Kaichou wa Maid-sama!

Leave a Reply

