The Return Of Unreal Tournament

On this WordPress a long time ago I wrote a post about the seemingly lost glory days of the first person shooter genre, I longed for the return of rocket jumps, strafe dodging and monster kills, now months later I am grinning like a Cheshire cat because my prayers have been answered….Unreal Tournament is returning and it wants it’s crown back as the king of the FPS genre.

Unreal Tournament (yes that’s the title not UT4 or anything, just Unreal Tournament) is being crowd sourced between the developers and the community and I was skeptical at first mainly because I know the dangers of crowd sourcing but I realized that the Unreal community has some of the most talented people ever like a user named Gooba who made the Enforcer concept below and my paranoia vanished right then and there but moving on.

Now none of the concept art and images used in this post are mine, all images and video are from the official Unreal Tournament forums and official YouTube channel and I had permission from the creators themselves to use all images in this post and please keep in mind that these are concepts.

None of the concept art and images used in this post are mine, all images are from the official Unreal Tournament forums and I had permission from the creators themselves to use all images in this post

Now I love this concept of the Enforcer, it’s big, bulky and it means business and personally the Enforcer is one of my favorite weapons, I used to dual wield them and basically run towards bots…..yeah it was totally crazy but it worked

A franchise as iconic and somewhat dated by modern standards like Unreal Tournament is bound to have some sort of fatigue but the developers and community are doing things that they couldn’t pull off in the older games and now they have more powerful equipment, new engine and new ideas to breathe some new life into this FPS giant.

I spent a tonne of time watching their developer live streams and I was really impressed with what I was seeing, the Outpost 23 Gameplay Trailer below really impressed me and I can see it becoming one of my favorite maps once the full game is released so please watch the link if you want to have a look at pre alpha footage and gameplay because I am sure it won’t disappoint.

From the above gameplay trailer it seems that Unreal Tournament is bigger, better and even more hectic than ever before and that is just the way I like it, no aim down sights, no kill streaks, no modern era FPS gimmicks, it’s just you in a arena full of overpowered weapons along with other people trying to kill you, you have to have fast reaction time and a even faster trigger finger to keep up and come out on top of the leader board.

I know it isn’t really my place to make demands of the community or the developers but as a fan of the franchise and has played every installment Unreal Tournament there are a few things I would like to see in the new game not that it really matters because the game is already looking better than ever even in alpha but it couldn’t hurt so if you are reading this Unreal developers here are a few ideas from a devoted fan.

I would like to see the return of the Ripper or it’s even meaner counterpart the Ripjack return to the Tournamentband for those of you who are unfamiliar with the franchise, the Ripper and Ripjack are both weapons that fire ricocheting saw blades that can take off an opponent’s head if you are lucky enough to hit them in the neck….yeah it was that cool but also dangerous because the blades could just as easy take your head off if you weren’t careful.

One section of the Outpost 23 map seen in the gameplay trailer above, the map offers tight corridors perfect for getting close up with the Flak Cannon, wide open spaces that will keep you on your toes and alot of vantage points for players to sneak up on enemies and paint the white walls red.

One section of the Outpost 23 map seen in the gameplay trailer above, the map offers tight corridors perfect for getting close up with the Flak Cannon, wide open spaces that will keep you on your toes and alot of vantage points for players to sneak up on enemies and paint the white walls red.

I would also like some classic or “throw back” maps like Morpheus,Turbine or Galleon from Unreal Tournament 99 into the new game but give them an HD face lift, it would be great because if they looked good back then, they would look incredible now, Bombing Run which I thought was quite a fun addition to the franchise back in 2003 and Assault mode from Unreal Tournament 99 and that’s about it really.

Before I forget I should mention that Unreal Tournament will just be free and “not free to play” kind of free that we are all too used to now when in comes to online gaming which is amazing, however there will eventually be a marketplace where developers, modders, artists and gamers can give away, buy and sell mods and content and earnings from the marketplace will be split between the mod/content developer, Epic  and that’s how they plan to pay for the game since it is free to begin with and I am totally cool with this.

I have seen how passionate the developers and the community are about making this the best installment yet in the iconic franchise and it would be quite stupid to think this is like another first person shooter title that offers you 4 maps for £15 a piece, this latest installment could become a hot bed of activity and have a tonne of potential to boot, most game developers started out as game modders and so not only would it be a great title but it will once again build a entire community around it.

I simply cannot wait for the game to be finished completely because I have really missed the back to basic fast paced twitch reflex gameplay that were the foundations for the modern shooter genre in games like Battlefield, Call of Duty and so on and while realism is good sometimes you just need an epic voice in the sky applauding you for killing 25 people in a row so while Call of Duty’s latest installment might have lasers and exo suits now there is nothing like hearing the words “MEGA KILL” and winning a Unreal Tournament match flawlessly.

So what are your thoughts on the return of Unreal Tournament, I for one am excited but then again I am a long time fan so I might be a bit bias, so please let me know what you think about the gameplay in the YouTube video above and check out the official site and with that I am done so please like, comment down below and share this post

Leave a Reply

