Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Announced

So I yesterday I saw a hash tag trending on twitter called #CantKillProgress and I thought nothing of it until I found out it was something to do with Deus Ex which is one of my favorite game franchises ever by the way and I am grinning like the Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland right now because Human Revolution is getting a sequel in the form of Deus Ex  Mankind Divided and I am beyond excited for it.

The original Deus Ex title made in 2000 is one of the most iconic, most critically acclaimed games of all-time and it was one the very first games that got me into gaming, I was blown away how amazing everything was and I have had a love of anything cyber punk related since then but enough with the history lesson boys and girls because it’s time to talk about the franchise’s newest installment.

Mankind Divided directly follows the aftermath of the Aug Incident, a day when mechanically augmented citizens all over the world were stripped of control over their minds and also their bodies which results in the deaths of millions of innocents…fast forward to 2029 and the golden era of augmentations has ended, augmented humans have been deemed outcasts and segregated from the rest of society and crime and acts of terror serve as a veil to cover up a conspiracy aimed at controlling the future of mankind.

In the middle of the action will be our old friend Adam Jensen as seen in the absolutely incredible announcement trailer above and he is not playing around by the looks of it, armed with new abilities and implants Adam is definitely ready for a fight, not only can he see enemies through walls but also scan them for electronics and ammunition, he is able to hack turrets and computers at a distance and he can fire the blade hidden in his cybernetic arms at enemies like a crossbow but whether or not the actual game will let you do such things has yet to be seen.

Mankind Divided offers two styles of play: “quiet” and stealthy or open battle and the  artificial intelligence of enemies is better than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and play, respectively, will be more difficult as a result which is totally cool with me because I am not a fan of games that are too easy.

Enemies travel in groups and if they suspect something is wrong they will summon colleagues to explore dark corners together so that means no more single targets so a player will have to be aware of their surroundings or expect a fight where one could of been avoided.

Enemies travel in groups and if they suspect something is wrong they will summon colleagues to explore dark corners together so that means no more single targets so a player will have to be aware of their surroundings or expect a tough fight where one could of been avoided.

If you don’t fancy being a cyber ninja, you can as always attempt to shoot your way through the levels and from most  of the screen shots I have seen so far, the gun customization is back and seemingly better than ever, for example the high tech rifle Jensen is holding in the above image has half a dozen customization options, from bring able to use different ammo types to having a variety of optical attachments, this game really encourages experimentation.

The game is going to be available on PS4, Xbox One and Steam for the people who prefer the good old mouse and keyboard with no word as of yet about a PS3 or 360 port and to be honest I really hope that there isn’t a last gen port because it might effect game’s overall quality and this is coming from me, a guy who is stuck in last gen city but moving on.

“I once thought I could save the world, now look at it, sometimes you have to let go and embrace what you have become” – Adam Jensen

I expect a lot of good things from Humanity Divided because I absolutely loved Human Revolution and I cannot wait to see how things are going to play out, I am expecting great twists, turns and revelations that the franchise is known for with solid and improved game play to boot.

I really hope that this game really pushes the PS4 and Xbox One to their limits because well it’s been about a year and all we loyal consumers have gotten is a bunch of over hyped and underdeveloped games that had alot more potential than most people realize but that people is another topic for another time and I am almost out of it for today.

I do apologize for this post being on the shorter side of things but this was rather spontaneous considering I only watched the announcement trailer about a hour prior to writing this and you are probably thinking “what the hell” right about now so I will let you in on a secret…I work fast when I am excited for a release like this and one more thing before I leave please like this post, comment down below and share so others can read it.

2 responses to “Deus Ex: Mankind Divided Announced

    • I know the feeling, the trailer that had me going nuts with how awesome it was and I absolutely cannot wait for it to come out since I grew up playing the original and that terrible sequel Invisible War along with Human Revoultion 🙂

Leave a Reply

