All Aboard The Creative Paranoia Train

Countless times since I opened this blog I have on numerous occasions declared my love for gaming, its culture and my aspirations to add to it by becoming a game developer but recently I have been struck with doubts because of a few things I personally find worrying.

About a week ago I was having a chat on twitter with a game developer that was in the process of making his first game along with his team and at first glance one might say “that’s great” but then he told me he was afraid and that is what got to me for the following reason, I could only come to the conclusion that he was struck with some sort of creative paranoia because of his words.

You see boys and girls, his team’s first game stars a female lead and at first I was like “that’s cool, we need more of those” but then he told me that he was terrified, confused and paranoid on how to write his female lead so he wouldn’t get problems from the “progressive media and co” and I now understand why he was feeling this way.

This pic kinda covers most of the creative mediums and the rather authoritarian policies around currently.....I know it says SJW on their tshirts but you get the idea from what their actions

This pic kinda covers most of the creative mediums and the rather authoritarian policies around currently…..I know it says Game Dev on the guy’s tshirt but you get the idea hopefully.

Recently I have noticed somewhat a atmosphere of fear around most of the creative mediums such as video games, comics and so on or it could just be me imagining it all but when someone says “they are afraid to create something due to backlash” it is not only troubling it is also quite unsettling for me personally as someone who wants to develop games, write comics and etc.

I think Voltaire once said “To find out who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize.” and this is disturbingly accurate in my honest opinion because for a while I have seen game developers, comic book writers and so on bend over backwards to avoid being labelled as something they aren’t and threatened to change to to pander to their assailants…..which in this case are the overly zealous politically correct authoritarians that want to control and change anything they personally do not like.

On Twitter you have “hashtag activism” attempts from people who apparently want the medium to grow and mature attacking characters and bullying developers who don’t tow the party line, I will use an example because I have a good one…LIonhead studios, the creators of Fable.

This is a poster in Fable 2 that the developer Lionhead Studios posted to celebrate National Cleavage Day and it took a matter of seconds for a tonne of people to swarm Lionhead’s official twitter and throw a tantrum over the image, it was the usual “sexism” this “woman hating” that and Lionhead was bullied into removing the tweet and make an apology over THEIR OWN IN GAME ASSET

This is a poster in Fable 2 that the developer Lionhead Studios posted to celebrate National Cleavage Day and it took a matter of seconds for a tonne of people to swarm Lionhead’s official twitter and throw a tantrum over the image, it was the usual “sexism” this “woman hating” that and Lionhead was bullied into removing the tweet and make an apology over THEIR OWN IN GAME ASSET

Lionhead Studios, a massive developer with a huge following was strong armed mafia style into removing something that apparently “promoted sexism” when it did nothing of the sort, anyone who knows and has played the Fable franchise would know that this game uses incredibly funny innuendo and sometimes crude humor but no they had to bend over backwards because of the very angry voices of a minority group that had NO knowledge of the franchise.

So if a huge developer can be bullied into removing an image off of social media because people claimed “offence” then what is stopping them from saying other things and other mediums are too ?

This thought alone horrifies me because creative mediums like video games, comics and story writing are my escape, my hobby and I want all three to eventually become my career and well the future looks extremely grim not only for me but alot of people.

I had this image saved for quite awhile and well it really annoyed me because of the article, I have friends that write and draw hentai and they are quite good at it but this article just gives the impression that a artist who draws provocative material is suddenly shamed just because of their work and this wasn't the only post shredding the artist's work

I had this image saved for quite awhile and well it really annoyed me because of the Why do we even bother anymore” quote, I have friends that write and draw hentai and they are quite good at it but this article just shames the artist solely because of their work and this wasn’t the only post shredding the artist’s work, there were half a dozen articles about this, artists can draw many different things so why was this artist shamed and slandered because the studio wanted him to do his job ?

For months I have read things, watched things and face palmed at things that are down right stupid and petty in regards to being creative and all that implies and it just makes me die inside for a vast number of reasons, developers are censoring themselves and taking down their work off of social media, artists are changing their work because of whiny, petty complaints from people who DON’T buy their products and probably NEVER will just to avoid problems.

“That’s a nice thing you have there, sadly it offends me so take it down or change it and apologize to me”, this is what it has come to now and it is wrong in every sense of the word and I do not care if anyone says otherwise because nobody has the right to take away someone else’s creative freedoms.

I mentioned that I have friends that draw and write hentai, I would never try and take away their right to draw said material just because I am not a fan of that but nope it’s now become Orwell’s 1984 and those who try and stand up for themselves are swarmed and broken down until they give in or give up and I will let in on a secret…..I wanted to give up my dream of creating games and writing because of this paranoia.

This was pretty much the response Bayonetta 2 got from the same people, I am not surprised they haven't started marching into renowned art galleries and started destroying art that they personally didn't like

This was pretty much the response Bayonetta 2 got from the same people, I am not surprised they haven’t started marching into renowned art galleries and started destroying art that they personally didn’t like “let’s destroy the statute of David and burn the Mona Lisa” it is incredibly unsettling for me because it’s like Hitler all over again…..remember the book burning well this is the same but before anything is made

I didn’t write ANY new ideas for characters especially female ones because no matter what I did, no matter how I tried to make them unique and interesting I couldn’t because I was too afraid to try. why spend hours on end developing a game or writing a book or drawing a comic when it is going to be shredded in an instant over something stupid like how a character looks or what they wear, how they behave, what they go through.

For two whole weeks I was stuck in a downward spiral of creative depression hence why I haven’t been posting and believe me I am deeply sorry about that guys but I am sure most of you guys can relate to being lost or more appropriately stuck but anyway the good news is I came to a realization, I create for myself and nobody has the right to tell me what I can and cannot do or create because once you do give in then they will control you.

That is what happened to me, a irrational self righteous minority that wouldn’t probably support my creations had their claws in me and gave me a stupid fear and it made me feel terrible and I know this is more of a rant rather than what I usually cover under this section but I just really needed to vent but one last time before I go, to all the creators out there amateur and professional alike.

Keep creating what you want to create regardless if it video games with women that have bouncy cleavage, comics with psychotic clowns or hentai, it doesn’t matter just create and don’t let anyone bully you for simply doing what YOU want.

4 responses to “All Aboard The Creative Paranoia Train

  1. Being anti anything remotely sexist seems to be the in thing at the moment. I guess people are worried what others will think of them after Anita’s slanted videos became popular. It probably explains why so many Japanese games are censored.

    • Believe it or not I had to tell one of her followers about the whole point of art and artistic expression…..they told me that I should be set on fire then they blocked me >_>

      • Agreed, it is incredibly depressing, if you don’t want to have your opinions challengedthat means they are probably worthless to begin with and don’t want to find out why

Leave a Reply

