Dragonslay3r94 Reviews – Highschool Of The Dead

Highschool Of The Dead is a adaption of the manga of the same name that aired in Japan in 2010 from July 5 to September 20 and it is a zombie/horror/harem anime and it follows a group of survivors after a zombie outbreak happens but if you are a fan of anime you have probably heard about this “infamous” show already and wondering why the hell I am reviewing it and probably calling me a pervert as you do so but I will get into that now.

So a friend recommended this anime to me and just so you know that friend was female so don’t blame me or call me a pervert because of her Ecchi watching ways so with that cleared up here is the review for Highschool Of The Dead.

Highschool Of The Dead is a Ecchi anime so you can expect alot of up skirt shots, bouncy cleavage and utterly pointless bits of fan service but when you strip away that part of the H.O.T.D formula it is a decent and somewhat enjoyable show and one I enjoyed more than I thought I would.

The cast of H.O.T.D, Shizuka Marikawa (Rear left), Saeko Busujima (Middle left), Takashi Komuro (Front), Rei Miyamoto (Middle right), Saya Takagi (Rear right) and Kohta Hirano (Middle right under Saya)

The cast of H.O.T.D, Shizuka Marikawa (Rear left), Saeko Busujima (Middle left), Takashi Komuro (Front), Rei Miyamoto (Middle right), Saya Takagi (Rear right) and Kohta Hirano (Rear right under Saya)

The plot for Highschool Of The Dead is the usual zombie outbreak much like every other zombie thing ever, not only must the group survive against the undead but they must also face additional threats in the form of dangerous fellow survivors and the possible decay of their own morals due to the world being turned into a living hell in the span of a single day and since this anime is set in Japan there are alot of zombies and people that are willing to turn against one another to survive.

While the premise might not be original in any shape or form, the characters are pretty good even thought they are somewhat stereotyped, they all add something to the group and they all have talents that help the group out as a whole and considering the world has pretty much gone to hell, good help is hard to find and harder to keep.

Shizuka is a ditzy blonde that can sometimes be oblivious to the situation but is the only adult of the group along with being the group’s medic, Rei is the headstrong member of the group, Takashi is the group’s appointed leader and he is pretty much the usual generic cool looking guy with problems but doesn’t really know how to solve them, Saya is a genius with her brain being her major contribution to the group, she thinks of strategies to help rather than fight but that changes later on.

Highschool Of The Dead is quite bloody but then again it's a zombie apocalypse so you wouldn't expect things to be spotless now would you....this girl just kicked her BFF down a flight of stairs to the zombies below so you can expect karma to pay her back good and properly

Highschool Of The Dead is quite dark and well grim, this girl just kicked her BFF down a flight of stairs to the zombies below so you can expect karma to pay her back good and properly mere seconds later

Kohta is the usual nerdy looking guy but he has extensive knowledge of firearms and military-related equipment so he is pretty much the nerdy Rambo and finally there is Saeko who is my personal favorite and well if she was real I would totally date her, she is the group’s most capable fighter since she is pretty much a samurai, she is a kind, caring, strong and very reliable person but she has a dark side.

They each bring their own talents and skills to the table to compensate for one person’s lack of skills but I think that’s about the characters for now so onto the other redeeming factors of this anime, now Highschool Of The Dead is surprisingly gruesome with the first episode showing people being eaten alive as they try to escape from the shuffling hordes and it is quite graphic but hey it’s the zombie apocalypse so you wouldn’t expect things to be spotless now would you.

I would go into what happens and key parts but that would be posting spoilers and well everybody hates spoilers so I will go it to a few parts that I personally found funny because I have a mildly (ok maybe majorly inappropriate sense of humor) but hey we all have our short comings as human beings.

I watched it for the story I swear

I watched it for the story I swear but on a serious note, if a woman is completely comfortable with wearing nothing but an apron in front of you then should marry them because reasons.

The best thing about Highschool Of The Dead is it’s over the top nature, there are not many anime shows where you see zombies being killed by a semi naked samurai dressed in a sexy maid outfit standing on top of a moving Humvee and yes I am being 100 percent serious….Saeko is that over powered and sexy, we can’t forget sexy but moving on.

The animation quality is really good and it one of the show’s high points, if you are going to make a Ecchi anime where well endowed women fight the undead then you better have high quality animation for accurate bounciness and if you guys could not tell that was sarcasm and it is one of my many talents.

The show comes in two flavors, subbed and dubbed and both are good but I personally prefer the subbed version because I like to read and that’s well that’s about it, the art style is good and it doesn’t look any different from the manga which is good because some adaptions alter designs but H.O.T.D isn’t one of them so does this show have any short comings….yes it does and I will get into those now.

All the leads together along with another character they meet along the way who is a 8 year old girl named Alice

All the leads together long with another character they meet along the way who is a 8 year old girl named Alice

Highschool Of The Dead falls short in a couple areas but I should probably try and explain why that is, due to extreme weather in Japan a few years back, the manga was put in hiatus and well it’s pretty much in limbo right now with half a dozen rumors swirling around the internet if we will ever get a second season or not and another thing that is more to the show’s detriment is the somewhat pointless fan service, for example the infamous drunk bathing clips where the girls grope each others boobs and throw water over each other and the guys are wondering what the hell is going on while they are looking out on the balcony.

However the show itself is really good despite the fans service, it’s pretty dark at points with some pretty tense moments and other times it’s less serious and more relaxed with context and alot of dialog between the characters and well since it’s a harem anime, there is a bit of love triangle stuff going on between Takashi, Rei and Saeko so there is bound to be alot of bitch slapping and a rivalry between the girls that sort of thing.

I really hope H.O.T.D gets another season and the manga carries on because this show has great characters, a good story and a couple of things going for it not including the  fan service

I really hope H.O.T.D gets another season and the manga carries on because this show has great characters, a good story and a couple of things going for it not including the fan service, thats a bonus in my opinion, the 12 episodes and the OVA is worth watching……it’s not too long and it’s quite enjoyable given it’s bad rep.

If you don’t mind seeing well endowed women slaying the undead hordes, bouncy cleavage, many many up skirts and slow motion bullet time up skirts and jiggle physics then give this show a shot, a female friend of mine is loving this show after seeing me post about it alot and and her exact words to me were “Never have I seen so much up-skirt in my life….I’m lovin’ it” so if that’s not a good sign then I don’t know what is.

If you liked this review then please tell me what you think of it in the comments below, share it with friends and like this post if you want to see more in the future.

14 responses to “Dragonslay3r94 Reviews – Highschool Of The Dead

  1. I also really liked H.O.T.D and I’m hoping for 2nd season. There were a lot of fan service but it didn’t completely take a way from the story line. But there were definitely times when I was like really when it got to be too many fan service moments. But great post!

  2. H.O.T.D. was a pretty good anime. I treated this show as a substitute to the Walking Dead. I heard the manga goes farther but I also heard that it’s on a hiatus for quite some time. I believe that the author is focusing his attention on his other series Triage X. I hope he returns to H.O.T.D. and finish the story.

    • Yeah me too, fan service aside it was really good and it deserves a lot credit than it gets but most people just tend to overlook it because of the fan service which in a way is disappointing.

      I did learn one thing though, people should never pick on otakus because during a zombie apocalypse they will be the ones kicking ass while everyone is lunch 🙂

      • I know right. I like the characters in the anime and I hope that even if the series ends, I hope they stay together. Kohta Hirano is one cool guy and I want him in my zombie team XD

  3. My personal favorite out of the group is Saeko but yeah I really hope they stick together and one thing I hope gets explained is how the whole world went to hell in a single day because I found that weird.

Leave a Reply

