My Top Ten Favorite Anime Characters

Recently I made the decision that I should start posting anime related content like reviews on top of my regular content, now I am pretty sure most of you are aware that I adore anime, I thought my first official anime related post should be something easy like a list of my favorite characters in anime.

Note multiple characters from the same anime will be on this list because I tend to have more than one favorite character but I will try and keep those to a minimum because I don’t want to flood the list too much but anyway let’s move on.

Now this is a top ten list of my favorite characters but like always I would love to hear who your favorite characters are, anyway this list is gonna have both men and women in here because they are both equally badass so now on to the number 10 spot and the character that has made it home.

Number 10 - Yusei Fudo fron Yugioh 5D's

Number 10 – Yusei Fudo fron Yugioh 5D’s

Now the Yugioh is one of my personal favorites because Yugioh was the anime that well got me introduced to anime in general next to the legendary anime that is the one and only Dragon Ball z so I have a soft spot for the franchise even though I have no idea what the hell is going on with it now.

I was considering putting Atem aka Pharaoh from the original Yugioh at the number ten spot but I rewatched a couple of classic episodes of the original series and then thought maybe not because he is even a bigger badass then I remember since it’s been forever since I watched the original series but on the scale of badass Yusei is easily a 9 and a half on said scale.

Yusei is on my list because I just like everything about his character, Yusei is serious, calm and clear-minded; even in the worst possible situations and due to this he rarely acts on impulse and usually thinks things through before he plays any cards, he is selfless and kind-hearted and deeply values the safety of human kind and his friends so now on to number 9.

Number 9 - Mei Tachibana from Say I Love You

Number 9 – Mei Tachibana from Say I Love You

At the number 9 spot is Mei Tachibana from Say I Love You which is a romance based anime, now you lot are probably thinking what the hell is a character from a romantic anime doing on this list and for those of you who are wondering why, it’s because of how she develops as a character over the 13 episodes of the show.

When the show starts Mei is someone who is very cynical of others, some what bitter and unsociable but for good reasons obviously and she tries to distance herself from everyone so she doesn’t get hurt and I can relate to her character in alot of ways and you are probably thinking something along the lines of “oh mah gawd you are such a weeb” but in truth I wasn’t that far off from Mei growing up.

I really wasn’t the most social person and I didn’t really have friends growing up for reasons I shall not go into but the point still stands that I can relate to her character, throughout the episodes she grew as a person and that’s why I love Say I Love You and I am a big enough man to admit I really enjoyed it even though it’s a anime mostly aimed at teenage girls but sometimes it’s nice to enjoy something that doesn’t have a intense amount of blood and yelling in it for once so with that let’s move onto number 8.

Number 8 - Claire from Claymore

Number 8 – Clare from Claymore

Claymore is one of my favorite animes even though it was short, it was one anime that really needs a second season for a number of reasons but that’s another post for another day, anyway Clare is without a doubt a huge badass and was a really good character for a number of reasons, she is a skilled warrior with her total monster of a blade (believe me even Cloud Strife from FF7 would be jealous of that thing), she has a good backstory and she is somewhat likable even though she is somewhat a one dimensional character.

Clare’s parents were killed by a Yoma impersonating her brother and when the Yoma attempted to rape Clare, an unnamed Claymore killed the beast but another Yoma captured Clare, forcing her to travel with him as a cover and plaything, scars on her body showed the abuse and Clare’s suffering shut her down emotionally and she became mute as a result but after meeting Teresa Of The Faint Smile she traveled with the Claymore but after her death, Clare went to Teresa’s agent to become a Claymore.

While I can’t relate well to Clare for obvious reasons she is a good character regardless, she has pretty good character development over the course of the show and that is what I like about her most other than the fact that she is a badass and in my opinion quite attractive for someone who is one quarter Yoma, also if this little bit about Clare has got you interested about the show, you guys should real out because it’s awesome, it has blood, dismemberments galore and its awesome or read the manga if you can find it so onto number 7.

Number 7 - Edward Elric from Full Metal Alchemist

Number 7 – Edward Elric from Full Metal Alchemist

Edward Elric from Full Metal Alchemist is at number seven because I really enjoy the Full Metal Alchemist franchise and it is in my top ten of favorite shows and in my opinion Ed is a really well thought out character and that is important to me, when I watch an anime I look for character that have more to them under the surface and Ed has alot of depth.

Ed is someone who regrets his actions and has paid a heavy price because of them, his brother Alphonse lost his entire body and his soul is bound to a suit of armor just to keep him well alive and Edward lost his arm and his leg while trying to resurrect their deceased mother, yeah that’s the downside of alchemy but ever since that day Edward has been trying to find a way to restore his and his brother’s bodies to normal.

He has a short fuse and can be quite volatile when someone mentions his height but he is a good person deep down who is trying to atone for his actions which I can relate to quite a bit, every time I screw up I try and fix it, I might not have an arm and a leg missing and my brother isn’t in a giant suit of armor but I can understand why his is like that so now onto number 6.

Number 6 - Esdeath from Akame Ga Kill

Number 6 – Esdeath from Akame Ga Kill

So I think it’s about time I put a villain on here so everybody meet the big bad beauty of Akame Ga Kill and her hobbies include conquering, torturing and loads of other evil stuff villains love to do, Esdeath is a complete and utter psycho, she loves inflicting pain on her enemies and even her introduction clip in Akame Ga Kill shows her on a throne made of ice with a conquered war hero licking her boots like an animal before she kicked him across the skull killing him in one blow

She is as cold as the ice she has control over but she is oddly like-able at the same time which is kind of weird considering she is one of the main bad guys, she is a product of her environment and was raised by the philosophy of the only the strong survive and the weak should perish but for a psychotic sadist who loves coming up with new ways to torture her enemies, she can act out of character especially when she crosses paths with Tatsumi (who is one of the main characters) because she has fallen head over heels in love with him not knowing he is her enemy.

While I can’t relate to her as a character. she is easily one of my favorite characters even though I have only been watching Akame Ga Kill for a short while and this is gonna be completely unrelated but if Esdeath was real and not a homicidal maniac I would consider dating her and bringing her home to meet my mother because I think they would get on well anyway now onto number 5.

gajeel_redfox

Number 5 – Gajeel Redfox from Fairy Tail

Gajeel is like Vegeta from Dragon Ball z, the complete and utter opposite to the hero of the show and he is easily one of my favorite characters because just like Vegeta he was a bad guy and nemesis to Natsu but later became his friend and ally and believe me, Gajeel was really evil when he was a bad guy.

During the Phantom Lord arc in Fairy Tail, Gajeel destroys Fairy Tail’s guildhall with large iron pillars that protrude throughout the building, destroying the Guildhall’s foundation, he makes an example of Fairy Tail’s own Team Shadow Gear and pins them to a tree with Phantom Lord’s guildmark on them to show who it was and when Phantom Lord’s master captures Lucy, he tortures her out of bordom and misplaced hatred before getting his face caved in by Natsu.

I like Gajeel because he is character with a tonne of character development and that’s why I like him, despite his actions while a part of Phantom Lord; when Shadow Gear confronts Gajeel for what he did to them, he makes himself an open target and accepts the terrible act he had done to them and let them take their revenge and even protected Levy when Laxus almost hits her with lightning, I hated Gajeel when he was introduced but I grew to love him as much  as all the other members of the Fairy Tail guild and that ladies and gents is the mark of a great character so now onto number 4.

Number 4 - Vageta from Dragon Ball z

Number 4 – Vageta from Dragon Ball z

Now you can’t have a top ten characters list without the prince of all saiyans because when it came to anime villains Vageta was by far the coolest out of all the villains in Dragon Ball z, he was a prideful, arrogant asshole when he was introduced and it worked because he soon became a beloved character regardless of being such an asshole.

Vageta is one of my personal favorites because he is a great character, he started as a bad guy in the Saiyan saga, became good in the Cell saga and bad again in the Majin saga and that “can be easily swayed” thing really made him an interesting character but then you have to factor in that he is a bonafide badass, he gets beaten to a pulp by even stronger villains and he just like “is that all you got” and keeps fighting and wins.

While I can’t relate to the prince of all Saiyans but he was easily my favorite character because he is a cool character and I still quote Vageta till this day and personally I really want quote Vageta when my wordpress reaches over 9000 hits because that would be funny as hell and put a smile on my face so now on to number 3.

Number 3 - Erza Scarlet from Fairy Tail

Number 3 – Erza Scarlet from Fairy Tail

Now I know Erza Scarlet and Gajeel Redfox are from the same anime but Erza is just far too amazing a character to not add on my favorites list for a number of different reasons, not only is she a incredible warrior but she is a complex and deeply emotional character even though she might not look like the emotional type.

Erza has over 200 weapons (yeah imagine her during PMS season, you will be dodging swords left, right and centre) she has even thought 100 monsters at once of various strengths and sizes only to cut them all down and walk out like a total badass but moving on, I can relate to Erza because she is strong on the outside but soft on the inside and for someone who wears armor all the time, she is incredibly mentally scarred because she couldn’t protect those dear to her when she was young and I just want to dive into my laptop screen and hug her so tight that all the pain goes away every time she breaks down.

Erza is an excellent character, someone who puts the needs and safety of others before her own and is strong, kind and passionate not to mention she is incredibly attractive (okay I know that her attractiveness is irrelevant but she is gorgeous….just saying) and I absolutely love everything about her, history wise, personality wise and loads of small little things that makes her one of my favorite characters in Fairy Tail so now on to number 2.

Number 2 - Kazuto "Kirito" Kirigaya from Sword Art Online

Number 2 – Kazuto “Kirito” Kirigaya from Sword Art Online

For those of you who do not know I absolutely love Sword Art Online, I know there are some that think it’s overrated and so on but I personally adore the show and my favorite character is Kirito, the main protagonist and hero of the series for a number of reasons, he is almost always a calm and collected character who is rather cheerful but can be gloomy sometimes like yours truly aka me.

He is incredibly fierce and aggressive in battle and sometimes his fierceness goes up to the point where he loses control of himself and is even unable to recall his actions but I don’t blame him because we all can change when it comes down to a matter of life and death, you know like the giant mmorpg deathtrap that he was stuck in.

Kirito is actually a kind person who is just misunderstood but he is someone with incredibly strong resolve who will do anything and everything in his power to accomplish something that is important to him without any hesitation and that is something that really struck home with me while I was watching the show also he is a gamer so I can relate to him even more plus I am kind of a lone wolf type of person like he is so I guess nerds of a feather fly together huh.

He has alot of character development throughout the first season and even more in season 2 because he has PTSD caused by Aincrad and he is trying to live with what he did in the virtual nightmare and what happened in Aincrad Online and I really liked that because the creators of Sword Art Online took the risk to focus on Kirito in real life and what he is going through mentally, anyway on to number 1 and my favorite character of all time.

Number 1 - Seto Kaiba from Yugioh

Number 1 – Seto Kaiba from Yugioh

My number 1 favorite anime character of all time is Seto Kaiba from the original Yugioh and I am sure you lot are saying I cannot do that because I already put a yugioh character in here at number 10 but I have a loop hole…..its the same franchise but a different season so in yo faces.

If I had a choice to become a anime character, I would pick Seto Kaiba because he is just an overall badass, he is CEO of his own multi-national gaming company that is responsible for duel discs, duel runners and pretty much everything involving the duel monsters card game, he is ultra wealthy and has a long badass coat thing and we all know that people that wear long coats are badasses.

Kaiba is largely considered an anti-hero, as his motives are usually ego-centric and his personality is somewhat cold and ruthless, but he does help Yugi and his friends if it’s in his best interest and there have been many occasions where he helps Yugi when faced with a common enemy.

He does not believe in stealing from others to get ahead in life and he has proven to strongly believe in hard work and determination because he earned everything he has and he greatly dislikes people who steal or cheat however pride is Kaiba’s strength and weakness, never backing down from a fight and giving everything in a Duel he strives to prove his superiority over his adversaries and that ladies and gents made a huge impression on me as a child to the point that I wanted to be the CEO of my own company and that’s why he is at the number one spot because he was my idol and role model growing up.

So that’s my top ten favorite characters but as I said earlier I would love to hear who are on your top ten characters list so feel free you add them in the comments section below and let’s discuss anime because anime is love and anime is life and all that.

Leave a Reply

