Resident Evil Revelations 2 To Be A Episodic Release ?

So for those of you who haven’t heard the news, Capcom are releasing a sequel to Resident Evil Revelations and that’s a great thing considering I just bought Resident Evil Revelations in a xbox live sale along with Resident Evil 4 for dirt cheap but do you know what isn’t great, having a game chopped up and sold to us in pieces.

The sequel to Resident Evil Revelations will be out in ‘early 2015′ on Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC as a episodic release like The Walking Dead game made by Telltale Games and that to me just sounds completely dumb for a number of reasons but I will get into those much later but I think it’s time to actually cover the game and so on.

Resident Evil Revelation 2 is set between the timelines of Resident Evil 5 and 6 and stars Resident Evil 2’s Claire Redfield and Moira Burton (who is the daughter of the legendary Barry Burton from the original Resident Evil) and the plot has Claire is working for an anti-bioterror organisation called Terra Save but the duo are kidnapped and left in abandoned prison on a island which looks creepy as hell by the way and if you don’t believe me, you guys and girls can check out the trailer below.

Revelations 2 will have both “traditional” zombies and the new ‘Afflicted’ creatures but the whole “traditional” zombies statement has me a tad confused because there are so many type of zombies now, are they going back to the retro slow and shuffling zombies or are they going to be like the new enemies seen in Resident Evil 6 and older.

The “Afflicted” enemies are without a doubt the scariest thing we have seen yet from a Resident Evil game at least in my opinion and it’s clear they are trying to steer the franchise back to it’s horror roots which is good in a way considering people hated Resident Evil 5 and 6 because they were more action based rather than horror so its a step in the right direction for the franchise in terms of that they are doing game wise.

While there are only a couple screen shots here and there along with the trailer, I am excited for the game because it looks like a solid title and Claire is a cool grounded character who hides her kickass take no crap side well plus it’s been a while since she has been in a game.

Claire Redfield and Moira Burton in Resident Evil Revelations 2

Claire Redfield (left) and Moira Burton (right) in Resident Evil Revelations 2

One thing that does worry me however is that way they are releasing the game, Resident Evil Revelations 2 will initially only be available as episodes with Capcom planning to release four episodes a month at £4.00/$5.99 a single episode and then only afterwards collecting the whole game onto a single disc later.

But wait there’s more, if you don’t want to wait till the game is released on disc there is a season pass, yes a godamn season pass priced at £16.00/$24.99 and it’s beyond stupid because it’s Capcom, they just love chopping up our games that we bought with hard earned money and sold to us piece by piece as DLC, they have done it plenty of times in the past but with this episode system they will be running riot.

I am really wondering what the suits that inhabit Capcom’s boardrooms were thinking when they came up with this dumb as hell idea, did some random ass dude in the boardroom go “Um sir, I think I know how to make Resident Evil popular again and make us a shit load of money in the process” and began to tell them about The Walking Dead made by Telltale and how they released their game in piece by piece.

Resident Evil Revelations 2 now $5.99 a terror filled chapter....WTF Capcom ?

Resident Evil Revelations 2 now $5.99 a terror filled chapter….WTF Capcom ?

Now it might seem like I am ranting but I am sure most of you will agree with me on this, dividing a game like Resident Evil into portions is stupid because once you are immersed into the world and scared shitless and have your adrenaline pumping because of what might be around the next dark corner but once you reach the end of the chapter you will have to freaking buy the next chapter to continue and it kicks your ass straight out.

This format works for The Walking Dead because it is designed from the ground up to be like the show, suspenseful and each episode is meant to get you excited for the next part but forcing Resident Evil to do this is just plain stupid, if you want to make a “true return to survival horror” then do it right by making it a full game and selling us gamers the full game.

Capcom is probably going to flood the game with downloadable content anyway like those gun upgrade packs in the first Revelations game and half a dozen downloadable costume packs instead of working on a Wii U version so all the Nintendo fans won’t be left out or at least work on a 3DS version considering that Revelations was on the 3DS originally then got ported over to the other consoles.

OH MAH GOD it's a female protagonist with proper clothes !!!

OH MAH GOD it’s a female protagonist with proper clothes and yes that was sarcasm

While I am not particularly happy about Revelations 2 being episodic like The Walking Dead, I really hope it is good since most of my friends said Revelations was good and it felt like a proper return to it’s creepy roots, I will have to wait though and finish Resident Evil 4 first to find out though.

So like all my other posts, I would like to hear about what you guys and girls have to say about Resident Evil, it can be about the franchise as a whole or Revelations 2 and Capcom’s plan to bring it back into the survival horror category, I would love to hear what you people think about it because I am just one guy with a opinion and I would like hear your thoughts about it.

I would like to add one more thing before I go and it’s about my recent absence on here, recently I have been having some computer issues and it’s being a pain in the neck but I am dealing with em so I should be back to my regular posting routine so with this I bid you lot farewell.

2 responses to “Resident Evil Revelations 2 To Be A Episodic Release ?

  1. I want to give this a go, as I enjoyed the original Revelations. I don’t see the logic of splitting up an already complete game into episodes though. By the looks of it you are right. The PSN store is flooded with DLC for the game.

    • It is and it’s irritating beyond belief, call me a old man in gamer terms but when got games when I was younger they were FULL games, not some DLC ridden mess

      PS Parker was absolutely useless in Revelations lol

Leave a Reply

