The Hearthstone Controversy And eSports Dilemma

So I have been out of the loop with current events in the gaming world because I have been in Hong Kong, well the virtual one anyway kicking all sorts of ass in Sleeping Dogs but that’s really not important, what is important is that I should give my opinion on the whole controversy surrounding that  Hearthstone tournament after seeing it plastered all over my twitter feed and I am going be looking at both sides of the argument so here it goes.

There is no denying that eSports have taken the world by storm and are only just beginning to recognized as a legitimate sport (which is completely awesome because I completely suck at actual sports) but it seems while trying to be recognized there has been a few issues and this is the latest in the line of issues so here is the basic version if you haven’t been keeping up with events like I have, basically the discovery of a Finnish Hearthstone tournament has lead to an extreme case of sexism because it was only open to male players but after many many complaints by very angry gamers and Blizzard who made Hearthstone, they are finally now allowing women to play Hearthstone which is good but one thing I am wondering is how do we solve this issue so it doesn’t happen again.

The IeSF (South Korea’s International e-Sports Federation) have stated that the decision to segregate the male gamers from the female gamers wasn’t designed to be a sexist move nor intend to be, they simply wanted to “promote e-Sports as a legitimate form of sports” and it was also an attempt to bring e-sports closer in line with actual “international sports regulations” so do I think they did this intentionally well no I don’t and just so you know I am NOT defending their actions because for a bunch of suits, they could of done things differently and way better than they did.

Hearthstone is a fantasy strategy game in which players build decks of cards displaying various warriors with different skillsets – these decks are then used in turn-based battles against other players online

Hearthstone is a fantasy strategy game in which players build decks of cards with various warriors with different skill sets – these decks are then used in turn-based battles against other players online

So now onto the other half of the argument and this is the gamers side, now I love the eSports scene as much as anyone and I honestly see our favorite pastime becoming even more popular than mainstream television hell in Korea it’s already happening with Star Craft and I see huge potential here with the other countries so how do we solve this sexism in eSports issue so it doesn’t happen again ever.

While I am all for video games being seen as legitimate sports I can’t see how trying to fit gaming into what I call “traditional sports” regulations going well and isn’t really the best course of action for two reasons with one being that video games are a gender neutral activity that doesn’t need segregation, there is no physical difference requirement and secondly it should have it’s rules built from the ground up instead of being forced into a old as hell mold and expecting it to work.

I have spent at least the entire day trying to come up with rules and regulations designed for eSports and I have a few ideas that could hopefully provide a solid foundation for eSports and I shall list them below, now bear in mind I am throwing ideas around on what could be done.

eSports is taking the world by storm and it is crucial that we have rules designed and in place for eSports

eSports is taking the world by storm and it is crucial that we have rules designed and in place for eSports

So the first regulation I thought of involves player safety after taking consideration of the “possible conflic” part of the IeSF’s statement, now I know the whole “female player eliminating a male player” part could of been worded better but I am actually thinking they wanted to segregate the players by gender for safety reasons.

It is with a doubt gamers can be somewhat hostile at times especially to other gamers and I think this is one reason why they wanted to separate the genders, to protect the players and especially the female ones at that because well people can be complete morons sometimes and become abusive, trust me I have seen this happen like a thousand times online but here is one way the “possible conflict” problem could be resolved, security and surveillance for the players could be put in place to reinforce safety for ALL play regardless of gender and if players start being abusive or hostile to other players they will be “carded”.

Believe it or not I thought of this idea while watching a footballer on Youtube get a warning card for misconduct so I thought why shouldn’t eSports have a similar system, it’s a basic three strike warning system that will cut down misconduct and abuse hopefully because who the hell wants to lose a pro tournament because of being a complete jerk.

The eSports scene has a ton of potential but it also needs alot of work to be as big as we all want it to be

The eSports scene has a ton of potential but it also needs alot of work to be as big as we all want it to be

Another thing I should mention is that I have only put one rule so far and I will add the rest if you guys want to see the list at a later date, now I would like to address the gamer community for a minute because I think we as a community can help them sort this out, having screaming matches and tantrums won’t really help sort this issue out.

Be the change you want to see and if you are wondering who said that it was Ghandi however the point still stands about being the change because clearly the eSports side of gaming has alot of work to do before it is taken seriously and I think if we as community work together then we can make eSports bigger and of course better for everybody, we need to be mature in our approach and not fight about it because nothing will change otherwise.

Anyway that’s it from me on this volatile occurrence in the gaming world but like with all my articles, I would like to hear what you guys and girls have to say regarding this because it is always nice to have another point of view on a subject so leave in the comments what you people think about this and I will see you later.

Leave a Reply

